@prism @planettimmy I've nearly run into this as well but averted it:
* MS gives you limited online storage (say, 5gb) in OneDrive
* If you run over that limit, by just naturally saving things to Documents, it'll complain that it's no longer syncing until you delete stuff or pay up for more cloud
* If you STILL ignore their warnings, MS will email you warnings that they're going to delete your files unless you sync again (see above)
* (at this point I did move things to my regular ass hard drive which unblocked syncing and made the scary emails stop)
so even users not using a debloat tool etc. can still trip the issue you had. It's not at all clear to users that just filling up storage (which many don't even care about!) can lead to the destructive combo of "some of your files are cloud-only now" + "and we're deleting your cloud-only files"